itchyfeet1

About my travels, meeting people, adventures, food and culture

Musing in Munich

Who would have thought that after 25 years my dream to go to Europe would come true? At first I thought I must be dreaming and feeling pessimistic about the trip. We all know that getting a Schengen visa is very hard to acquire especially if you are a Filipino. Not because there is a discrimination but the reputation that some of the Filipinos did that after obtaining a visa and never returned to their homeland in hoping to find a greener pasture in the land of Latin Christendom. Anyhow, after submitting all the requirements needed in a getting a visa, I was swamped with tons of work on my desk. Projects lining up but the fear of the visa keeps on popping on my head.

I was in the office when my mom called up in the office and told me that she received my passport sent by courier. We were both excited and asked her to open fast the pouch and she was so excited to announced that a visa was granted.. Whooooaaaa!!! I cannot believe it!! But I was thankful of course for having the opportunity to finally be in Europe!

I was granted a one-month visit to any part of European Union so I booked fast to different airlines, making itineraries while checking the money that I have just to be sure that I would not have any financial problem on and after the trip.

Because I only have 1 month to travel around Europe, and I have a lot  of places to visit, I visited only few places and here are the select pictures I captured during my visit. First stop is Munich, Germany.

DSC_1910

Just outside Terminal 1 of Munich International Airport.

Just outside Terminal 1 of Munich International Airport.

 

 

 

Father and son at the airport.

Saw them while waiting for my flight to Paris.

CSC_9450

One of the famous landmark in Munich, the Marienplatz.

One of the famous landmark in Munich, the Marienplatz.

CSC_9566

I was surprised on how big the sandwiches in Europe.. Loads of salami, cheese, vegetables and more for only under 3 Euro!

I was surprised on how big the sandwiches in Europe.. Loads of salami, cheese, vegetables and more for only under 3 Euro!

 

Feeling rich for everyday I am having cheese and croissant with matching Evian water as my breakfast.. Though it is just an ordinary bread and water in Europe..

My everyday breakfast and I would not complain of having this everyday in the morning.. 🙂

DSC_8142

 

At the Prielmayerstrasse.

At the Prielmayerstrasse.

Marienplatz.

Marienplatz.

DSC_9409

 

DSC_9413

DSC_9418

Gotcha!

DSC_9437

Another tourist enjoying having a picture with a live statue.

Another tourist enjoying having a picture with a live statue.

Famous for beer! I love their beef with mushroom gravy.

Famous for beer! I love their beef with mushroom gravy.

DSC_9502

DSC_9526

4 comments on “Musing in Munich

  1. thomasmolineaux
    August 26, 2014

    Dear Aya

    We are so happy you got the chance to travel to Europe! We enjoyed the Munich adventures so far and look forward to any other updates 🙂

    • itchyfeet1
      September 15, 2014

      Thanks Thomas. 🙂 1 month stay in Europe is not enough. It is sooo beautiful. Hope I could go back again in Europe soon. Another post is coming. I just got back from a conference in Kuala Lumpur and a short trip with my officemate in Singapore. 🙂

  2. Erik Miller
    February 15, 2016

    another great job Aya ..

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 24, 2014 by in Moments, Travels and tagged , , , , , , , .
