itchyfeet1

About my travels, meeting people, adventures, food and culture

A Day in Romblon Province

I don’t know why but I am always in awe every time I travel. From places I have been to, people I bumped into, new things I learned — everything is such a wonderful experience! And Romblon province is one of them.

Romblon province is composed of several islands and islets, in which every island has different characteristic – as per our local friends we met there (I have not been yet to other islands in Romblon but planning to go back and visit other places) – which made me more curious about it.

We arrived at the Odiongan (Tablas) port around 2AM so when we reach in our hotel, I just changed my clothes and went to sleep. After 5 hours of sleep, rushed into shower and went down for breakfast. After breakfast, we had an orientation meeting of our activity that morning then by late afternoon we conducted a symposium on television literacy to over 100 people from different government agencies and teachers in the province.

The next morning, the university staff invited us to go beach hopping so we explore every beautiful beaches they have. Surprisingly, this Looc town, about 10 kms away from Odiongan, has beautiful beaches. So clean and bluish that when you see them, you would want to dive in the water and just stay until the rest of the afternoon.

After beach hopping, we went to a local radio station for our interview.. Yes! My first time to be interviewed! So we discussed what we do at work and its advocacy. Afterwards, we headed North for fish feeding and swimming. This town has a fish sanctuary operated by the local department of fisheries. We took a boat which takes us about 10 minutes to reach the fish sanctuary. A large group of students were there… swimming, feeding the fish, cheering over with their friends.  Such a happy moment.

After a few minutes, we already dive in the water and started feeding a school of fish…literally! And indeed fishes are so wonderful to look at. After feeding, we continue to enjoy the water. And because I so love swimming, my favorite thing to do is to jump off to the water and snorkeling around the area. How I wish I could do this more often..

What a beautiful sunset!

What a beautiful sunset!

The university where we conducted the symposium on television and media literacy

The university where we conducted the symposium on television and media literacy

This is the street where we stayed.

This is the street where we stayed.

One of their beautiful beaches.

One of their beautiful beaches.

Soaking my feet in the water to feel the warmth welcome of the beach to me :)

Soaking my feet in the water to feel the warmth welcome of the beach to me 🙂

2013-09-04 08.58.57 2013-09-04 09.06.02

I am not sure what is this but it looks like a shell of a starfish... Awesome isn't it?!? :)

I am not sure what is this but it looks like a shell of a starfish… Awesome isn’t it?!? 🙂

Pristine water..

Pristine water..

2013-09-04 09.13.09

My view while laying down in a hammock.
My view while laying down in a hammock.

My view while laying down in a hammock.

2013-09-04 09.58.29

Itchy feet ready to taste the salty sweetness of the water.

Itchy feet ready to taste the salty sweetness of the water.

I am not sure what is this but it looks like a shell of a starfish… Awesome isn’t it?!? 🙂

2013-09-04 12.31.59 FISH!!!!!

3 comments on “A Day in Romblon Province

  1. thomasmolineaux
    November 11, 2013

    The “shell of a starfish” is an animal fossil yes 🙂 They are very abundant around the islands of Nanaimo too. Naomi loves to collect them. Canadians call it “sun dollars” or “sand dollar”.

    • itchyfeet1
      November 11, 2013

      Cool! But they are so brittle that you have to place it in a secured container to preserve it. Wish I could take them as my souvenir.

  2. Erik Miller
    February 15, 2016

    Nice job Aya… love those photos..

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 9, 2013 by in Travels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
