itchyfeet1

About my travels, meeting people, adventures, food and culture

Celebrating Valentine at Colmar Tropicale

Colmar Tropicale

I was fancied when I learned that there is a French village in the north part of Malaysia. The place is called Colmar Tropicale in Berjaya Hills which is located in Pahang, an hour away from Kuala Lumpur.

Image

There is no public transportation going to Colmar Tropicale but you can book a roundtrip service van at the 8th floor of The Chateau, Berjaya Times Square in Jalan Imbi. The price is RM35/way and RM55 for a roundtrip. You can choose from 10am, 1pm and 3pm schedule.

Sitting comfortably at the back seat when a Chinese lady kept on looking at the back and smiling at me so I smiled back. I only know basic Chinese language and she also knew basic English so we can’t have a long conversation. And she may be wondering why I am alone on this special day (Valentine’s day – though, as I observed, valentine was not a big deal to Malaysians unlike in Manila, it would be a REAL DEAL if you are walking alone in the mall with no one beside you or you are with group of friends to celebrate the occasion.  I have not seen any Malay people dining at a fancy restaurants to celebrate that special day nor men giving flowers to the one they love, anyways!) and she looks concerned if I’m okay at the back. Pretty sweet of her!

Image

It was raining so hard when we reached Berjaya Hills. Good thing I brought my umbrella with me or else I will be soaking in wet while going around that place. The French village is just a small place which you can go around in less than an hour though there are gaming machines inside but mostly the games are for kids, a quite expensive restaurant and a small theater. There are many things to do in Colmar Tropicale/ Berjaya Hills. There are horseback riding, golf course, a temple to visit, Rabbit Park, Japanese Tea House (which claims to be the world’s first Japanese tea house in a tropical forest), a bowling alley and tennis court and a paintball war zone but due to rain, visitors were not able to visit those places.

Six Argentinean dancers performed to entertain the tourist visitors. After seeing few of their dance numbers, I went to the shuttle bus station to go to the Japanese garden.

Image

The shuttle bus is free and the waiting time was not that long even if there were lot of visitors because there has an ample shuttle bus going around the place.

The Japanese garden was a simple and so quiet that you can even hear your heartbeat due to panting because the place was so high and you have to walk all the way up to the garden. You can have a nice view of the mountain, a field of organic vegetables down the hillside and a fresh and cold air. This is what I like… FRESH AIR! Manila is a crowded and a polluted place and if only I could save the fresh air in a bottle and take it home to Manila, I would not mind paying for an extra baggage at the airport. 🙂

Have done a few rounds at the garden, picture taking, and observing people while munching chocolate then went back to the waiting station to meet our driver and went back to city.

To grade my trip from 1 to 10 (10 as the highest, I would give 8!) 🙂

2 comments on “Celebrating Valentine at Colmar Tropicale

  1. thomasmolineaux
    May 19, 2013

    Hey those houses look like they want to evoke the building style of Normandy on the French west coast. That’s where (some of) my ancestors are from 🙂

  2. itchyfeet1
    June 15, 2013

    Cool. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 10, 2013 by in Travels and tagged , , , .
